Dear Jessie Follow the Golden Rule

Dear Jessie,

I wanted to start these letters off with themes I think are very important and the Golden Rule is probably the most important thing you can do in life. It seems, on occasion, some people either don’t know or don’t want to follow this rule.

The Golden Rule is simple: treat others the way you would like to be treated. Sounds simple right? I think this theme is a lot harder now, what with being able to hide behind a username, than it used to be when I was a kid. Being nice was easier in the good old days when you had to talk with people face to face and interact with a wide variety of people on a daily basis.

If you don’t like being called names, and I know you don’t, please don’t call other people names. Always think to yourself: how would I react or respond to this situation? Would I want to be yelled at by someone for a simple mistake I made? How do I feel when I go to the library/cafeteria/gym/anywhere and someone left all their used crap lying around? I know I don’t like picking up after other people.

Be careful of what you say and how you act. Don’t take things that aren’t yours. Treat people with kindness and they will return the favor filling your world with love and joy. If you lie, cheat, steal and treat people badly, your life with be dark and filled with ugliness. We create the world we live in by our actions and words. Choose wisely.

There are lots of examples of people breaking the Rule but I don’t want to go into those things. If you look for them you’ll see them. I just want you to take the time and think about what you’re doing, preferably before you do it. Always ask yourself: am I treating this person the way I want them to treat me?

Love, Mom

Leave a comment

Filed under Letters to Jessie

Leave a Reply

