How I Find Training Motivation: Fear

I don’t know what I did to make Janet angry, but it must have been a doozy.  Janet signed us up for a 35 mile bike ride through the beautiful hills of Forest Grove, Oregon and I’m scared to death of how I will feel after: will I still be alive? Will every cell in my body scream out and do the hokey pokey? I don’t think the end result will be pretty…if we make it to the end.

Thirty five miles might not sound like a lot, to a select few of you, but I can tell you Janet and I are far from being in the kind of shape needed to pedal a bicycle. It must have sounded like a great idea to Janet, a couple of months ago when she signed us up, but now that it’s 2.5 weeks away I’m thinking of having her tested for the crazy bug.

One thing this impending doom of a race has done, besides scare me silly, is to realize how seriously I take exercising and eating for fuel now that a deadline is quickly approaching. I have exercised more (jogging, walking, biking), eaten better foods (superfoods, fruits, veggies, lean proteins), and drank more liquids (water, Gatorade, beer) in these last couple of weeks than I thought possible. I really don’t like any of these things…except for the beer, of course.

Janet and I must be delirious from the endorphins from working out because we’re talking about signing up for a series of three 5ks in Seattle starting in September. The goal of the timed 5ks, staggered four weeks apart, is to see yourself progressing in your endeavor to become fleet footed. That shouldn’t be hard for me: I’m currently jogging at about a 23 minute mile pace. That could be an exaggeration, but it might not be.

Did I ever write about the time I took up jogging in Fort Worth, TX? I’d been jogging for about a month, I felt pretty good about my progress, when I came upon a little old lady speed walking. I was jogging along at a nice pace when this speed walker blew by me. She was a little gray haired, cane using, hearing aid wearing octogenarian in a track suit who went by so fast I thought I was in reverse. True story. Needless to say, there’s room for improvement in my timed runs.

We must be drowning in too many vitamins and minerals, from those fruits and veggies, because we’re also talking about running a 10k in December to finish the year out. What is wrong with us? Have we finally turned the corner on our lazy habit of sitting around watching TV while eating cheeseburgers and milkshakes? That’s one possibility. I’m thinking it’s the beer buzz, though.

jenn

ps. Our Boston terrier, Roxy, is the funniest little creature. I’m pretty sure Boston’s were bred to be ratters but Roxy thinks she’s a herding dog. Whenever she wants me to go anywhere, she gets behind me and stares intently at my legs like she’s willing me to move with her intimidating stare. She lowers her head and goes into a trance like state. It’s the funniest thing. It never works, but she’s trying to perfect her awesome mind control over me. You must move this way, Momma!

Leave a comment

Filed under Health

Leave a Reply

