Places to Eat in Seattle

I’ve been spending some time in the Seattle Center area, lately, and I try to be good with our self imposed budgetary limitations, but I’ve checked out a few restaurants on the sly. I enjoy walking around the Center; Roxy does too if it’s not raining or cold (she hates those two together). Luckily for Rox, it’s rarely wet and cold in the great Pacific Northwest during the winter!

The Seattle Center is much more interesting and diverse than I remember from my youth. There’s a lot to see and do there such as the impressive Space Needle (I do remember that part), KeyArena (where the Seattle Storm shoot hoops), Pacific Science Center, numerous museums and stages and the Experience Music Project. I’m not sure what the EMP building is supposed to represent but it kinda looks like Godzilla spit his gum out in the parking lot. I hope there weren’t any innocent bystanders when he hocked that up.

Pie

Also on the 74 acre grounds of the Center is a place called the Armory. It’s a food court now with a number of local eating establishments. There’s a Subway and Starbucks, too, in case you missed the other ten located within a two mile radius. My favorite spot in the Armory is a place called Pie. It creates sweet and savory varieties of small, portable, tasty pies. Janet and I went to Pie one Friday night and had a Cauliflower and Cheddar pie with a baby Key Lime pie for dessert. I will definitely go back and try some of their other choices as I love meat pies and most things with ‘key lime’ in the title.

Pho Viet Anh

I’ve been meaning to try a Vietnamese sandwich for ages and finally got around to it a couple of Fridays ago. I didn’t know what to expect, I’m not a very adventurous eater, but I enjoyed the food and ambiance. No frills and tiny, the restaurant envelops you when you first walk in and gave me a warm and homey feeling.  We ordered a pork sandwich and I fell in love with the vegetables and bread. The pork was almost an afterthought, on my part, and next time I think I’ll order the vegetarian option. I’m not sure what they did to make the veggies taste so darn good but Janet and I have been thinking about them for days. I know, right! That never happens with veggies.

Pagliacci Pizza

No food list of mine would be complete without a pizza entry. This is one food type all three of us agree on (and if we let Roxy eat pizza, four). At Pagliacci’s you can buy pizza by the slice, a budget friendly way for everyone to eat pizza at the same time without having to buy three entire pies. I must admit, I really like Pagliacci for their freshly tossed Caesar salad. I can think of no better way of eating lettuce than to smother it in Caesar dressing and throw in large chunks of bread disguised as croutons. The tri-nivore in me loves a slice of pepperoni pizza with a side of salad. Tri-nivore: a person who eats meat, fruits and veggies and, my favorite, carbs.

If you ever find yourself in the Seattle area, check out these restaurants and definitely stroll around the Seattle Center to collect your ten thousand steps per day. On most Wednesdays, Roxy and I can be found walking around the area. Unless it’s raining and cold then forget it.

jenn

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

