What’s Playing Tonight: The Books on my Nightstand

I like to be entertained.  I enjoy movies, music, funny stories, and listening to Jessie talk (she can be very funny). There’s something about reading, though, that really entertains me. I think it’s the fact I can use my imagination fully when I read. I enjoy it when authors paint a picture for me and I completely see what they’re talking about.

I like to read authors who don’t go into too much detail about the characters in their books. I remember reading a story where I had a clear picture of the people involved until the author mentioned one of them having blonde hair. What? That’s not how I pictured her in my head. That’s what makes it so difficult to watch certain movies based on bestsellers. They rarely pick an actor who matches the character in my head; especially if that actor is Tom Cruise.

I usually have several books going at once and not just because I have the attention span of a gnat. I try and pick not only interesting books but ones that either teach me something or completely entertain me.  Here are the books staring on my nightstand tonight:

Orlando by Virginia Woolf

I saw the movie several years ago and had no idea what was going on. I spent the whole movie thinking, ‘wait, now he’s a she? What happened to Orlando? I’m sorry, what?’ Beside the fact I was a little lost during the show, I found it interesting enough to google Virginia Woolf and read about her and her friend Vita Sackville-West. I read a biography of both women and even watched the BBC miniseries ‘A Portrait of a Marriage.’

When I found out my book club had picked Orlando as February’s read, I was so excited at the opportunity to read the book. Now maybe I can figure out what I had missed in the movie. I started the book three weeks ago and have thought, ‘wait, what happened to Orlando? Wasn’t he a boy last chapter? What’s going on?’ the entire time. I still don’t have a clue.

J is for Justice by Sue Grafton

I love reading Sue Grafton’s series. They are so much fun and she has some interesting characters. I enjoy mysteries and like to be kept guessing until the bitter end. I’ve noticed in some series, especially long ones, that sometimes the books tend to get bogged down in the familiar toward the middle and lose their spark. I haven’t noticed this with Grafton’s series yet. As a matter of fact, I think J is her best book so far and I look forward to getting up to speed: I think she’s up to V already. I’m almost done with this book and I meant to read Gone Girl next but since Janet is taking her sweet time reading (Janet wanted me to let you know she works for a living) that I might have to start Grafton’s K.

Walden by Henry David Thoreau

Not only am I reading Walden currently, but this book is also on my list of books I will never get rid of, which I’ll have to write at a later date. I love this book. I wish I could go out into the woods (if I could find some) and live the simple life Thoreau writes about. I’m currently reading the chapter where Thoreau is sitting with neighbors and he doesn’t understand why the man works so hard to buy the things he needs to work so hard. If you live a simple life, you only need to buy simple things and you can spend your time learning and living and breathing. I wish I was more like Thoreau.

Guns, Germs and Steel by Jared Diamond

Here’s a book I’ve wanted to read for quite some time and Janet bought it for me as a stocking stuffer (you really should see the size of my stocking) this past Christmas.  I’ve just started it but it seems like an enjoyable read. The dormant microbiologist in me always dances a little jig whenever she sees the word ‘germ’ in a title. I just hope it’s not a hard read, although I don’t think it is from the foreword. I don’t mind reading textbooks; it just takes me a while and they hurt when you fall asleep reading in bed and they hit you in the face.

I don’t read them all every night. I just pick the one that works for me at this moment in time. What’s on your nightstand?

jenn

Leave a comment

Filed under Lists

Leave a Reply

