Roxy the Boston Terrier

I think it’s finally going to happen.  I’m going to get a dog. Like my Grandmother used to say: I’m so excited I could just spit. I won’t, though. Her name is Roxy and she is a 21 pound Boston terrier. Janet isn’t thrilled with the idea but Jessie and I can’t wait to adopt her. Think of all the shopping we can do.  Just don’t tell our budget.

I won’t bore you with the whole story of how I found Roxy but I learned of her through Seattle Purebred Dog Rescue.  They’re a great organization who helps dogs relocate, not from a kennel or shelter, but through volunteers who donate time and money to care for dogs in their own homes.  I didn’t necessarily want a purebred dog, and I’m sure they foster non-purebreds, but it just seemed to work out this way.

Originally, I wanted to go to a shelter and pick out a cute little dog that couldn’t live without me but realized it might be better adopting from someone who’s lived with the dog for a while.  I had visions of leaving the dog and having her bark nonstop in my condo.  That would probably be more annoying, to my neighbors, than a pre-teen cackling uncontrollably while watching A.N.T. Farm on the Disney channel.

Jessie and I went to meet Roxy earlier tonight and I think Jessie fell in love with her immediately.  Roxy’s so small and cute, she’s portable size, how could she not fall in love with her? I myself am holding off on adoration until I can pick her up in a couple of weeks.

There’s one thing all three of us can agree on: we don’t like the name Roxy. I’ve always thought of Roxy as a good stripper name and Roxy the dog does not look like a stripper what with the tuxedo she’s wearing.  Jessie wanted to name her Bear but Janet and I said no, she’s definitely not a bear.  I googled ‘popular pet names’ and we had a ball going over all the names.

We decided to keep the new name similar to the old sound wise so when Jessie suggested Monkey (it does end like Roxy) I had to tell her, “but what would we call you then JessieMonkey? If we said ‘come here, Monkey, you’d both come running.”  Jessie had to agree with us so we each made a list of our three favorite female dog names.

There were two major rules to renaming Roxy: her new name had to be on everyone’s list and we had to all be happy with the choice.  Some of the names not making the cut: Cinnamon, Missy, Heidi, Maggie Mae, and about 20 more Jessie picked saying, “Oh!  I like that one!”  The name we chose: Sadie.

So, Sadie the Boston terrier will be joining our little family in the next few days.  Jessie and I are thrilled and Janet is still coming home on the weekends which is probably all I can hope for at this point.  Janet just doesn’t realize how fond of Sadie she will become in the months to come.  How could you not love that little bug eyed face?  She’s wearing a tuxedo, for heaven’s sake!

jenn

Leave a comment

Filed under Dogs

Leave a Reply

