Happy Blog-iversary and Voting Power

I’ve been writing this blog for about a year now.  Oh, how the time flies.  I was hoping to be an expert blogger by now but still haven’t figured most things out.  I’m thrilled to think I’m writing, this blog, my 51st.  Not that I don’t finish things I start…it’s just my mind starts to wander…where was I?

I’ve had 1,104 views so far, 42 views as the biggest viewing day one year ago today, Nov 1st, and I have 19 whole followers.  I want to thank you people, each and every one of you, for making my day when you decided to join.

Feel free to repost anything you see in the Wallingford blog (I just ask that you give me credit) and use any expressions or jokes you like as if they were your own.  I do the same thing: I hear something I consider funny, use it so much it becomes my own, and then forget I ever heard it outside of my head.  Ah, the joys of too few brain cells.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions for blog posts.  Is there any topic you can think of where you would like my opinion?  Trust me, I am full of opinions.  Janet tells me all the time how full of it I am.

Voting: Janet and I have spent the last month thinking we wouldn’t be able to vote, in Washington state, stuck here in California.  But then Janet did a crazy thing: She called the Washington voting people and asked them if we could vote absentee.  Where does Janet come up with these ideas!?  Brilliant!

When I called the voting people and asked if they would send me an absentee ballot she said, “um, all Washingtonians vote by absentee ballot, ma’am.”  Ouch.  Ma’am?  I’m not sure what bothers me more: being called ‘young lady’ by someone born in the ‘90s or ‘ma’am’ by someone who sounds old enough to remember Jesus wearing knickers.

Janet, especially, was bothered by the fact we couldn’t vote.  She hasn’t missed an election yet since she’s been old enough.  I’m pretty sure I missed at least one while nursing a hangover; hard to remember, though.  Janet doesn’t have a choice, she has to vote.  She’s a political science major; it’s in the fine print.  I was excited about Janet’s science degree – hey! me too! – until she sat me down to explain.  I’m still not sure I understand.  Wait…not that kind of science?

So, to say we are excited about the prospects of voting in Washington State, especially this year, is an understatement.  We are over-the-moon happy to throw our opinions on top of the heap.  This way, since we will vote, we can complain loudly if it doesn’t go our way.  It’s a known fact:  you can’t complain about the government unless you vote.

The voter registration lady informed me, very seriously, that I had to walk into the office and inform them of my new address as soon as I could.  I told her not to worry, we finally got word we’re closing on our new home next week and I will come see her personally.  She didn’t sound as thrilled as I thought she should.

Book 2 update: I finished the first draft of book 2 in the Vancouver Series, Alex’s Story, and will start the next draft in a couple of weeks.  You haven’t read book 1 yet?  What are you waiting for?  Head over to Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/jjwallingford to check out Devan’s Story and my unnaturally large bicep.  Seriously?  Who stuffs a sock in their t-shirt?

If Smashwords doesn’t work for you and you prefer Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Devans-Story-Hydrangeas-Vancouver-ebook/dp/B00895AMAQ.  If you want to send me an email: jj.wallingford@yahoo.com.  Thank you, very very much.

jenn

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

