Illness and the Joys of TV

Janet and I have been together for a little over 4 years now and I’ve never seen her sick.  Me?  I get sick all the time; I blame the lazy inner Jenn for most illnesses.  I think lazyjenn convinces my immune system to go out back and smoke while the diseases crawl into my system so I can lie around reading, working on Sudoku and watching TV.  I don’t know for sure, though, this is just a theory.

I’ve seen Janet tired, have an upset stomach or a headache, or with various stiff joints and a sore back.  But I’ve never seen her sick; until Tuesday.  It’s incredibly unnerving to have someone as driven and industrious as Janet lie in bed, not moving, for an entire day.  I kept calling downstairs, but don’t worry hell hasn’t frozen over, not yet anyway; we’ll see on November the 6th.

I kept checking on her, throughout the day, putting a mirror under her nose, asking her if she needed anything when she knocked the mirror away.  I asked her a couple of times too many because she gave me a look that said, ‘please go away and shut the door.’  She didn’t say it, I was proud of her, she held it in.  She wasn’t feeling well enough for snarky comments. She is now, though, I can tell you.

She woke up early the next morning and took a shower.  Oh good, I thought, the Janet of old.  No matter what day it is, Janet jumps up and takes a shower so she’s ready for the day.  Me?  Not so much.  And when Jessie and I are together?  Not at all.  Jessie and I are usually up and ready to go shopping at noon if that sounds any better.  Doesn’t really, does it?

Janet, on Wednesday morning, wouldn’t even entertain the thought of eating, even after I brought her a carefully prepared morning cracker.  It wasn’t even a saltine but a buttery delicious ritz cracker.  I tried to show her how tasty they were but I started running out of crackers.  I guess that only works on little kids.

On Tuesday night, after Janet barely moved all day, she came out into the front room and sat on the chair for a few minutes.  I was excited because I was finally convinced she was going to make it!  We talked and laughed and decided to go back to bed to watch something on Netflix.

A few weeks ago, Janet and I finally finished watching all the Bones episodes.  It took us a while; we even had another season join our queue before we managed to finish.  We’ve spent the last couple of weeks trying to decide what show, if any, we wanted to start to replace the beloved Bones marathon.  We decided to start ‘Damages’.

I love Glenn Close.  She is one of my all time favorites.  Besides the unfortunate bunny incident, I have enjoyed her roles and look forward to her next project.  I’ve heard good things about Damages and was eager to get started.  I was not expecting, however, for the show to start out like it did.  I can honestly say I have no idea what’s going on in Damages, even though we’ve only seen 3 episodes now, and I love every minute of it.

I have no clue who’s really a bad guy and who’s good.  The show follows the terrific formula of dropping the viewer right in the middle of a major conflict, and, guess what?!, we’ll explain it all later!  It’s jarring to see actors you enjoy watching (Glenn Close, Ted Danson) play characters which are not very nice at all.  At least I think they’re not nice, I’m not sure, I’ll have to wait and see.

The reason I enjoy watching Glenn is because she makes me feel things and I don’t mean make me laugh or cry, although she has done that, too.  When I see her character on the screen now, I feel a little bit of nervousness, in the pit of my stomach, a feeling of: what is she going to do now?  I love it and I wish other actors and actresses could thoroughly take over characters the way she can.

I’m so glad we chose Damages as our next marathon viewing session and I’m pretty sure there aren’t over a hundred episodes, like Bones, for us to watch.  I hope we can squeeze in an episode or two tonight.  If only we had more time to watch TV.  Hmmm…I think I feel a head cold coming on.

jenn

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

