A Great Time To Be A Sports Fan

As a sports fan, I’m closing in on heaven.  The Olympics are wonderful; as far as baseball is concerned, I haven’t thought, ‘there’s always next year’, quite yet; and football is mere weeks away.  It’s nice to see both Mannings in a uniform, even if Peyton’s is a Broncos uniform.

I have watched a lot of coverage for the Olympics this year.  I’m not sure if NBC normally shows so much during the day (I used to have to go out to work), but it’s a wonderful variety of sports I usually don’t watch on a regular basis.

Even Jessie got into watching gymnastics.  It’s not my favorite sport, I feel sorry for those poor girls, but this year’s was pretty fun to watch.  The USA girls did great and I’m so proud of those little people.  I think Jessie’s now interested in taking another gymnastic class, she was so caught up in the competition.  She’ll be shocked when she figures out how much time and effort is required.  I seemed to have passed on my lazy gene to Jessie.

I love to watch diving, swimming, and track and field.  I’ve spent some time watching the women’s beach volleyball and that was a lot of fun.  I’d never really watched too much volleyball before these Olympics and I realized how much I enjoyed the sport.  I like the fact you can score on anyone’s serve.  That really speeds up the game.

I’ve also managed to catch some water polo, a game I’d never watched before.  Those people are vicious.  I had no idea how much action they see under the water.  I’m still not sure I understand the rules, but I like to watch a sport where it’s beneficial for the women to have a little bit of padding on their bodies.

I will admit I’m feeling a bit like a slug watching the super fit athletes at the top of their game.  I’m nowhere near the top.  As I’ve told Craig, Janet and I have fallen off the wagon…and landed at the bottom of the Grand Canyon.  I don’t know how we’re going to get out of this lazy hole we’ve created for ourselves.  Oh yeah, I guess we could just work out tomorrow!

I’ve been watching so much of the Olympics I’ve forgotten about the Mariners.  Now if they were at the top, instead of in the basement, I might not have totally forgotten about them.  I know it’s a long season, and we have a way to go to the end, but it doesn’t look good.  I’m still behind them, though, 100%.  It just gets a little dark here in the basement.

I’m really looking forward to football.  I’m not going to say anything about the Seahawks, I don’t want to jinx them, but things are looking good so far.  I just saw a commercial with the Manning brothers and it looked so weird seeing Peyton in that orange uniform.  I guess I can root for Manning in orange; I rooted for Tebow in the same color.

When I was growing up, there were two team I really didn’t like, two teams I wouldn’t root for if I moved to their cities.  Later on I added the Cowboys because I really, really don’t like their owner.  The two teams I didn’t like were those damn Yankees and the Broncos.

I will never like the Yankees.  I know: never say never, but I can’t for the life of me think of any reason I would root for the Yankees.  I’ve never liked them and I never will.  I love the city of New York and I don’t mind the Mets or the football teams, but those damn Yankees, they just leave a bad taste in my mouth.  I’m just thankful Janet is from Connecticut and not New York.  I don’t know what I’d do if she were a Yankees fan and not a BoSox fan.

I didn’t like the Broncos because of John Elway.  Just when you think you’d won the game, Elway would bring them back from the brink and win.  I really didn’t like that.  But when Tebow was playing I found myself rooting for the Broncos.  I just grimace whenever they show Elway in his little box.

Now Peyton Manning is playing for the Denver Broncos.  I can see myself rooting for the Broncos now.  Not 100% rooting, I reserve that for the Seahawks, but I can see myself rooting for them when I see them.  I’m assuming we’ll see a lot of the Broncos this season on national TV.

I’m always sad when the Olympics are over.  I don’t like the winter Olympics nearly as much as the summer, so I have to wait four years for another fortnight of wall to wall sports.  I just wish there was this much choice for sports on all the time.  Lazy people like me and Jessie love to sit and watch sports.  Just imagine the damage we would do if we participated in sports!

jenn

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports

Leave a Reply

