Updates on Life

I started this blog as a way to keep in touch with my legions of fans.  Okay, I’m done laughing now.  I wanted people to get to know me, Jenn, as a person (just in case I do have fans at some point) and I hope I’ve done okay so far.  You know some of the things I like and don’t like; some things I struggle with and some things which amuse me.  I also wanted to give updates on the progression of my first book – I am supposed to be a “writer”, you know.

The first book is looking great, if I do say so myself; and I have.  My editor MaryEd sent me her first draft and I just sent it back to her, for further revisions, a few minutes ago.  I call her MaryEd, because my daughter’s best friend’s mother’s name is Mary and I don’t like to be confused.  You’d think I would be used to the confused state by now, but no.  I thought “Mary, the Editor” was way too formal, so MaryEd it is.

MaryEd seems to like the book too and I’m thinking good thoughts about it now.  I’m trying not to get too excited about the book; I would hate to jinx myself, but I really like how it looks. It looks nothing like the first draft, I can tell you that much.  I think Janet was, in the beginning, a little worried about her declaration of support for two years while I tried my pen at writing.  I hope she feels a little better now, after reading a bit of the revision.

Janet and I have a meeting set up with a graphic designer for the formatting and cover art work this weekend.  I believe that will be the final piece of the puzzle before we can self publish.  My goal of having the book published by the end of April looks to be very doable now.  I’m actually planning on heading down to California to spend the month of May with Janet before we move to Oregon for the summer.  That way I can knock out the first draft of the second book and have that book published by the end of the year!  Yippee!

My daughter Jessie and I plan on writing a book together this summer.  That should be a lot of fun.  We’ll just stick that in between book two’s first and second drafts.  I’ll just put book two on the back burner for a month or two.  That way the first time I pick up book two’s first draft it will be with fresh eyes.  And by fresh I mean “make the book better” eyes.  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

jenn

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

